top of page

Three major types of volcano in New Zealand

New Zealand Volcanoes The latest volcanic activity can be see on the GeoNet. New Zealand has a lot of active volcanoes and a high frequency of eruptions.

There are three major types of volcano in New Zealand. Volcanic activity in New Zealand occurs in six areas, five in the North Island and one offshore in the Kermadec Islands. Most New Zealand volcanism in the last 1.6 million years has occurred in the Taupo Volcanic Zone. The zone extends from White Island to Ruapehu. The Taupo Volcanic Zone is extremely active on a world scale.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page